The San Mateo County Courthouse is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is the fourth courthouse built on this property since 1858. The top floor of the 1858 courthouse was destroyed in the 1868 earthquake. The bottom floor served as an annex to the second courthouse built in 1882. The iconic dome was incorporated in the early 1900s and was the only portion of the building to survive the 1906 earthquake. In 2006, the 1910 Neo-Classical facade was reconstructed to bring back the original look of the building. Today, it serves as the San Mateo County Historical Association Museum. Events are often held in the square in front of the museum and the building is iconic in downtown Redwood City.
CLICK HERE FOR FURTHER INFO ABOUT THIS PATH OF HISTORY STOP